The Chronicles of Being a Black Woman: The World of Dating.

black woman snapping fingers
“OH HELL NO!”

If I hear another “black women come with too much drama” statement or if I witness a man describing a black woman resorting to the imitation of the GIF above , I will literally scream. Now I know that it is not a new hot topic that black women are perceived to be much more “spicy” and/or “dramatic” than women of other races BUT damn I’m still very much in my feelings about it (and i probably always will be). We (black women) are literally at the bottom of every possible hierarchy along with food chain and it’s exhausting.

When it comes to the dating world, it’s not a secret that all these black high profile men in Hollywood and in the South African celebrity culture date and marry preferably mixed raced women and/or “exotic” women as they (men) term them. This is how the dating female hierarchy goes: at the top is white women with an accent and black women physical features, white women with accents, mixed race women with curly hair, Exotic races (Cuban, Puerto rican, Brazilian etc), Asian women THEN the black woman.

Now the crazy and hypocritical fact of the matter is that the women of these other races and origins are highly celebrated for black female features (big behind, big breast, big lips and a tanned complexion) and usually these features are artificially enhanced through surgery among other things but yet we are shamed for the exact naturally occurring features. Is that not a $#!*&? Well another ridiculous assumption is that just because we are “strong” we can live through it… rubbish, we are tired of being glorified for willingly tolerating being mistreated and oppression.

Another thing, when I send my drink or order back it’s because “I’m a black dramatic woman” and not because my order is wrong or my drink tastes like a specimen from the porcelain express in the bathroom? Okay, I have nothing more to say on that.

So here’s to the black woman constantly desired (be it through the body of another woman of another race or just on a erotic magazine) but not loved and appreciated, YOU ARE AMAZING. You define who you are and no one can ever take that away from you. You are the Creator’s art piece and you are a walking canvas. Celebrate the art work you are.

“LET EACH MAN EXERCISE THE ART HE KNOWS”

Published by Bwana Asifiwe

My name is Lindelani Mbangeni and I am a writer and an all-round creative. Bwana Asifiwe exists to display and present niche and everyday art forms of a diverse coverage authentically. This includes the creative culture, musically curated soirées, good music and more.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started